Grades Never Mattered

Posted: July 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

I recall doing an internship two summers ago when one of the employees told me, “Grades don’t matter in the business world”. Apparently, when I go for a job interview, the person sitting behind the desk isn’t going to ask me what grade I got on my latest biology exam or even if I ever made it on the honor roll. They don’t care about that stuff. “I was doing multiple internships at the same time, so I failed miserably in college. But because I had so much experience, I received job offers.”, said the employeeNow that I finished college, my next goal is to attend graduate school. Unfortunately, getting into graduate school is tougher then I thought. I graduated with a 3.0 GPA. It would’ve been nice to be one of those people who can easily remember things, but I’m not. I’m normal. So until a graduate school finally lets me in, I will do as many internships as I possibly can to boost up my resume.

Comments
  1. pink woods says:

    Hey! I like your blog. Maybe because we’re on the same footing and situations. I especially like your first post…

    “Boredom, sadness, loneliness, and failure mostly plagues my life. (Thanks to God, I have one friend….Jesus.) I have NO idea why I was put on this earth and I wish I did. One of my fears is that I’ll never find out. My BIGGEST fear is going to Hell for being such a horrible person. Holiness vs Worldliness.” It feels like I’m reading my own sentiments! Hahaha! 🙂

    Also, in one of your post you said, ” so I’ll stick it out and hope a successful career slaps me in the face. If not, I’m dying young.” I was like what…astounded! That is so like me. Hahaha, I feel really creep out and surprised reading this.

    Anyway, we have one thing in different. I love pink, and I especially like that bedroom of Hello Kitty. 😛

    P.S. I just graduated too. Welcome to the blogging world. 🙂

  2. Mozes says:

    I always heard the term, “D is for degree!” And as I think about it, it’s all too true…

    I’m also one of those students who can’t remember anything unless I look at it for hours at a time. School was a terrible cycle for me, I’d put all my effort into doing really good in one class, only to do terrible in another. Then I study for that class, which meant I was doing bad for the other classes again. Wow, what a nightmare…

  3. Yelly says:

    Thanks for dropping by the blog. As it happens, I think my migraine was induced by the fact that I didn’t have my glasses on Friday!

    In the Philippines there is constant…jockeying, if you will, for a place at the leading universities (you either get in because you passed the entrance exams, or you appealed and begged for a place). I’ve always told people that it doesn’t matter how you get in, it’s what you do once you’re in.

    I think employers look for some sort of training (education- or experience-wise) so they can gauge your potential so in a way a degree is important. But I think it’s how you put yourself across during the interview that’s really key. If you show enthusiasm and eagerness to learn and eagerness to work then it’s in the bag…at least it’s worked for me so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

